12th Section Award announcement 2015

1/12th Circuit

Every year at its AGM, each section of the BRCA recognises one of its drivers, officials or other associated figures with a section award.

Section awards are usually given to individuals who have gone the extra mile for the section on a specific occasion or over a period of time.

10574461 10152367416987817 8900437519031517925 nPrevious recipients of the 1/12 section award include Action Model Centre, Nigel Hale, Mark Stiles and Mick Farrell among others.

We are pleased to announce that this years recipient is Darren Newton.

Just over a year ago Darren pushed very hard and subsequently succeeded in setting up the GT Section which runs the BRCA Nationals for GT12, GT10 and F1. In little more than a year what started as a tentative 'toe in the water' to develop what was then a 20-car GT12 support class at the LMP12 nationals has now become one of the best attended national championships in the BRCA. This is thanks in no small part to Darren's commitment, leadership and willingness to make it happen.

In addition to this, Darren has also been busy in his role as the BRCA secretary and has developed an all-new website and online entry system for the association which will be fully live before the end of the year.

We think that he's a worthy recipient of our section award.

Well done Darren, and thanks for everything you've done!