Mobers Wins Inaugural reedy 1/12 Race of Champions

1/12th Circuit

The inaugural Reedy 1/12 Race of Champions took place in Milton Keynes, UK last weekend. The event was hosted by the British Radio Car Association and was the centrepiece attraction for members of the general public at one of the largest shopping centres in the UK. In addition to the Reedy Race, a Model Motorsport Exhibition was hosted and UK-based RC manufacturers and retailers were present to display, demonstrate and sell their products. The BRCA also set up a small track with GT12 cars to enable the public to sample RC for the first time.



A standard format Reedy Invitational modified class featuring more than 20 of the world’s top 1/12 drivers was complimented by an open entry stock class using 10.5 motors and blinky speed controllers. The open class of 70 drivers was split into two groups based on practice times, and each group then had its own Reedy format event for the remainder of the weekend.

Each driver had 10 races with random heat and grid allocations each time, with each competitors 7 best finishes counting towards the overall placings.

In the LMP1 invitational modified category, Japanese driver Toto Ebukuro was the class of the field in the early stages, driving his Reedy powered Yokomo to multiple race victories. Reigning European Champion Alex Hagberg had a sedate start to the weekend, but steadily gathered pace as he adjusted to the technical track layout and style of driving required for 1/12 scale racing. New CRC recruit Markus Mobers was also fast throughout the weekend with is Orion powered chassis, while British Champion Olly Jefferies was a regular front runner too driving for Xray and LRP.

As the rounds progressed, Ebukuro was racking up victories and it seemed as if the title would be heading to Japan. However, in the penultimate round Markus Mobers pulled out an electrifying drive to win his heat and set the fastest race time of the weekend. This meant that a further win in the very last race of the weekend would be enough to give Markus the overall win on countback. Markus did not disappoint, and a solid drive in the 10th and final round gave him the 7th win he needed to deny the Japanese youngster a major title on European soil. The Xray duo of Hagberg and Jefferies finished 3rd and 4th respectively, with Britain’s Mark Stiles an impressive 5th following a solid set of drives with his Reedy powered Yokomo.

LMP1 Invitational – Overall Result
  1. Markus Mobers (Ger) – CRC/Orion
  2. Toto Ebukuro (Jpn) – Yokomo/Reedy
  3. Alexander Hagberg (Swe) – Xray/Orca
  4. Olly Jefferies (GB) – Xray/LRP
  5. Mark Stiles (GB) – Yokomo/Reedy
  6. Keven Hebert (USA) – Associated/Reedy
  7. Juho Levanen (Fin) – Associated/Reedy
  8. Daniel Sieber (Ger) – BlackArt/LRP
  9. David Spashett (GB) – Zen-Racing
  10. Alex Laurent (Fra) - BlackArt

The LMP2 Open class was won by Zen-Racing youngster Ollie Payne. He was locked in battle with Yokomo designer Naoya Kitagawa and came good when it mattered to beat the Japanese ace on the track and take his maiden international race victory. Tim Wood finished 3rd driving a Reedy powered Serpent.

LMP2Open Podium

The LMP3 Open category saw a clean sweep for Daniel Bancroft; he won all 10 of his races in a dominant performance to take victory ahead of fellow Brit John Zottl and German Mathias Herntrich.

LMP3Open Podium

The event was a huge success and drivers are already asking whether there will be a repeat next year. Watch this space!