BRCA Large Scale Circuit Round 5 Mendip Report

1/5th Circuit

Wilks & Chirstopher keep their cool in the blazing heat at Mendip and secure the win!

The fifth round of the BRCA National Championship was held at the Mendip track at Bleadon near Weston-super-Mare


The meeting was again shared with the bike section so Saturday would see open practice with timed slots for each section. The temperature was high and the sun was shining, unfortunately the large scale on road and off road EFRA meetings were on the weekend before and after, meaning the Touring Class had low entry numbers with the Mini Class being the biggest in numbers. Times on Saturday soon started to get close with Mark Christopher just topping the times in Mini followed by Darren Newton and David Parish. Lee Stokes currently third in the championships was absent on family holiday and round 1 winner Craig Mawson was struggling to get on the pace.

Touring cars saw Neil Young,  Steve Wilks and Ian Young all swapping fastest times.

With everyone packed up Saturday evening saw the rain, luckily by Sunday morning the track was back to dry.

Sunday morning started with drivers briefing where the future of nationals was discussed, so make sure you attend the AGM.  This was followed by a practice slot.

Round 1

Touring saw Neil Young go a lap up from Ian Young, third was taken by Steve Wilks.

Mini saw David Parish go one lap clear on 24 laps followed by Craig Mawson 1 lap down and Andrew Robinson showing his speed and reason why he is currently second in the championship.

Round 2

Touring again Neil Young took the round followed by Ian a lap down with Steve improving to the same lap as Ian.

Mini saw Mark Christopher set a new ftd of 24 laps just 1 second faster from David Parish with Craig Mawson moving to third 1 lap down.

Round 3

In Touring the top three drivers all improved, with Neil Young taking overall ftd from a hard charging Steve Wilks 2 seconds adrift. Ian Young took third on the grid a futher 4 seconds behind.

Mini David Parish took round three improving his time but missing the ftd by 0.072 seconds, which considering qualifying is over ten minutes shows how close and competitive Mini racing is. Darren Newton took 2nd in round in the same lap as Mark Christopher and David Parish. These were the only three drivers to make 24 laps.

Mark Christopher’s ftd was just fast enough to set a new track record for the class at the track.


 Mini B  Adam Wilks shot off like a scalded cat after suffering radio issues in qualifying,  only to loose the car with an accident at 13 minutes in, leaving Keith Middleton to take the first bump up slot into the A final followed by Martin Woodcock and Mark McCormick.

Touring A, Neil Young made a mid race error allowing Steve Wilks into the lead, which he would not relinquish taking his 1st National win by 7 seconds from Neil Young with 3rd place going to Ian Young.

Mini A final  

Pole sitter Mark Christopher made a quick get away while David Parish got tangled in the persuing pack. Darren Newton gave chase followed by Craig Mawson. A battle for the lead over the next 20 minutes between Christopher, Mawson and Parish took place with all three taking a turn in front, eventually Christopher broke away after Parish suffered a sticking front brake. Mawson ran out of fuel at 23 minutes. Parish suffered the same fate at 28 mins due to the extra fuel used with a sticking brake allowing Christopher to take the win by 5 laps form Parish. Newton took third after nursing an ill handling car missing the extra lap to take 2nd by less than a second. Andrew Robisnon took 4th. Christopher admitted to going into fuel saving mode at around 25 minutes but his lap times showed he did not slow down being consistent times through out the 30 minute final.


Video Credit to Mark Chirstopher


Massive well done to Steve Wilks from the sections officials and racers on his first national win, and to Mark Christopher who has now become the 2018 BRCA National Mini Champion with 2 rounds still to run.

The next two rounds are at Brooklands track, can Christopher make it a perfect score? Who will take the 2nd 3rd 4th in the Mini Championship? Its open for Newton Parish, Stokes, Robinson and Mawson all able to make the top 3.

Touring sees Ian Oddie uncatchable but 2nd and third place are still mathematically up for grabs.

Full national results and championship positions can be seen here

entry for the next national is