1/10th IC & GT8 BRCA Nationals Round 8 Brooklands Championship Finale

10th IC Circuit

Final round of the season was held at Brooklands Raceway in Kent on 12th and 13th October . Despite a poor weather forecast many drivers made the trip with points and final championship places up for grabs!

1 Brooklands

Final round of the season was held at Brooklands Raceway in Kent on 12th and 13th October . Despite a poor weather forecast many drivers made the trip with points and final championship places up for grabs!

2 Brooklands


Saturday was wet and rainy all day with few drivers venturing on to the track but most preparing “wet cars “ for race day.

Later that afternoon the section had its own AGM with election of committee and proposals voted on for the forthcoming main BRCA AGM.

Saturday morning driver’s briefing gave Muriel and John Russell a surprise with a flowers and gift presentation from all the drivers to show appreciation for all their hard work in keeping the meetings running this season.

3 Presentation

No rain at driver’s briefing but a damp track made qualifying interesting. Round 1 200mm Touring saw Serpent’s Mark Green take TQ with 15 laps Matthew Cook 2nd and Stewart Mcleod 3rd

220mm TQ Devendra Mahatme 14 laps ,2nd Phil Edwards , 3rd Jamie Paton GT8 TQ Christoper Slater 2nd Gareth Bell 3rd Craig Woods

The track started to dry by Round 2 with James Conolly moving up to 2nd in 200mm Touring and Barry Abbot taking FTD in 220mm with 15 laps. Gareth Bell took TQ in GT8

Round 3 James Conolly took 200mm TQ and in 220mm Barry Abbott did 16 laps improving his TQ. Chris Slater did 15 laps taking TQ back in GT8 from Gareth.

By Round 4 the rain had started so no change in positions. The rain abated and after a short lunch break the finals listing was up.


A Final 200mm Touring

Just before the start rain began to pour down with drivers frantically trying to choose the right tyres. Mark Green took the lead with Devendra Mahatme in 2nd and Steward Mcleod 3rd. No change till late in the race with Mark suffering several flame outs but still managing to take the win by less than a lap. Matt Cook came in to change tyres and then stormed up the field eventually taking 3rd from Stewart at the end of the race on the last lap by 1 second! A podium clean sweep for serpent.

1st Mark Green (Serpent)

2nd Devendra Mahatme (Serpent)

3rd Matthew Cook (Serpent )

4 A Final Touring


A Final 220mm GT

Despite the rain stopping the wet track again gave the advantage to the drivers who had selected the right damp tyres.

FTD Barry Abbott carried on from qualifying keeping the lead and eventually winning by two laps. However the next few places were very close all race with Devendra Mahatme and Richard Kozakiewicz closing on 2nd placed Jamie Paton all on the same lap. Jamie held on for 2nd with Devendra less than two seconds behind and Richard the same after 30mins racing.

1st Barry Abbott (X-ray)

2nd Jamie Paton (Capricorn)

3rd Devendra Mahatme (Serpent)

5 A Final 220 GT

A Final GT8

A relatively dry track saw FTD Chris Slater take the lead in his electric GT8. Chris drove smoothly from start to finish with good pit stop battery changes to take the win by one lap from Paul Bellinger in a nitro GT8 . Gareth Bell took the final podium place.

1st Christopher Slater

2nd Paul Bellinger

3rd Gareth Bell

6 A Final GT8

Next up was the presentation for the overall championships.

In 200mm Touring Joe Kerry had already clinched the title and wasn’t at Brooklands. Matt Cook took a well deserved 2nd place with Steward Mcleod in 3rd.


200mm Touring Championship

1st Joe Kerry. (Capricorn)

2nd Matt Cook. (Serpent)

3rd Stewart Mcleod (X-ray)

7 200mm Championship

In 220mm GT Mark Green took the overall title just in front of last year’s winner Glyn Beal. Barry Abbott capped of a good weekend by taking the final championship podium spot.

220mm GT Championship

1st Mark Green (Serpent)

2nd Glyn Beal. (Capricorn )

3rd Barry Abbott (X-ray )

8 220 GT Championship

GT8 Nitro

1st Glyn Beal (IGT8)

2nd Matt Baker

3rd Barry Thompson

9 GT8 Nitro Championship


GT8 Electric

1st Paul Bellinger. (Serpent )

2nd Craig Woods. (Serpent )

3rd Simon Rameswari (Serpent )

10 GT8 Electric Championship


The Simon Smith Memorial

The Trophy was presented by Martin Thurston to Lee Broadhurst for the most funky bodyshell at the meeting.

11 Simon Smith Memorial Trophy

12 Presentation

The section service award went to John Russell:

Another good weekend for the Serpent Drivers .

13 Serpent Drivers Brooklands



Another successful season for the 1/10 IC Section with a decent overall entry and some great racing at the various circuits. Hoping for more interest and will warmly welcome all new drivers next year .