1/10th IC Round 4 Race Report

10th IC Circuit

Over the past weekend, the 1/10th IC Circuit series moved to the Stafford circuit for the first time in around 13 years

. Hot weather and sunshine were on the cards for the 32 drivers who entered to race. In Saturday practice, most drivers suffered with low grip conditions meaning that producing a tame car would be the key to success around this twisty circuit.

Once drivers briefing had finished, qualifying got underway. In the 200mm class, James Conolly (Mugen Seiki/Novarossi MAG Tuned) took advantage of the fact that a few front runners were missing to take the TQ ahead of the Shepherd/Orcan duo of Matthew Cook and Peter Hastings. In the 220mm class, Glyn Beal (Serpent/Picco) again set the pace this time from series returnee Michael Ball and Richard Kozakiewicz (Xray/OS Speed). Finally, in the GT8 support class, Glyn Beal (Serpent/Novarossi) also set the pace with Scott Hellawell (Serpent/XRD) in 2nd and Matt Baker (Serpent/Novarossi) in 3rd.

In the GT8 final, Beal would lead for the races entirety with Hellawell and Baker also holding position to round out the podium. The 200mm final saw the top 3 pull away smoothly and run a static race until Lap 54 when Hastings would pass Cook for 2nd with the race finishing in this order.

200mm Rd 4 2017

In the final race of the day, the 220mm final, Beal would pull away cleanly with Ball and Jason Fox (Capricorn/Max Power) holding the next two spots. On Lap 7, Beal would have trouble with back markers allowing Ball into the lead until around the 5 minute mark. Peter Hellawell (Serpent/OS Speed) would overtake Fox for the final podium position on the same lap and hold it until Lap 68 when he would have a spectacular off allowing 3rd place starter Kozakiewicz back into 3rd where he would finish.

220mm Rd 4 2017

The next round of the championship will revisit the Mendip circuit over the 29th/30th of July.