Round 3 Halifax 1/10 IC & GT8 BRCA Mini Series 2020

10th IC Circuit

Third round of the tenth IC mini Series at Halifax


Round 3 was held at the prestigious Halifax circuit on the 12th/13th September. Early rain and a damp track greeted the drivers and pit crews on Saturday morning.A dry day ensued with more cars venturing out and grip improving throughout. Practice was again in heat order giving everyone a fair chance to set up and tune their cars ready for race day.


Sunday morning was dry with good sunshine through the rest of the day. The usual practice round was followed by 3 rounds of qualifying heats .


During qualifying James Conolly was pushing Alex Thurston in 200mm Touring. GT8 saw Adam Southgate setting the early pace with Gkn Beal. Richard Boult was

pushing Rob Scott in 220mm GT.


At the end of qualifying top three were as follows :


200mm Touring

1st Alex Thurston

2nd. James Conolly

3rd. Mark Green


220mm GT  

1st. Rob Scott

2nd Jamie Paton

3rd. Richard Kozakiewicz

GT8 Nitro

 1st. Glyn Beal

 2nd. Adam Southgate

 3rd. Matt Baker


C Final 220mm GT

1st Frank Noel

2nd Denish Louth

3rd Ian Arkell

B Final 200mm Touring


1st Steven Brooke (X-Ray)

2nd Bob Harley (X-Ray )

3rd Darren Keeble (X-Ray )

B Final 220mm GT

1st Byron Russell (Serpent)

2nd Jim Beesley  (Serpent) 

3rd Dev Mahatme        (Serpent)) 

B Final GT8 Nitro 

1st Dave Dixon

2nd Ken Penny

3rd Pete Yaffia (Serpent)  

A Final 200mm Touring

TQ Alex Thurston led from the front before suffering an early glow plug failure . Mark Green took over with James Conolly in hot pursuit. A few seconds never separated the two with Mark holding on to take the win.

Mikey Mansel drove superbly to take the final podium place.

1st Mark Green (Serpent)

2nd James Conolly (Capricorn)

3rd Mikey Mansel (Capricorn)

A Final 220mm GT

Having retired after leading at Cotswold,  TQ Rob Scott was hoping for better luck in this final.He duly took the lead with Richard K, Richard Boult and an impressive youngster Bailey Rice-Draycott chasing. Unfortunately Rob’s bad luck struck again with a rear belt failure ending his race.Richard K took over maintaining a narrow lead over Boulty .Richard K was doing longer fuel stops so in the last five minutes , 

Boulty’s pit crew gambled with their man only 3 seconds behind dispensing with a final pit stop.The gamble back fired with Boulty running out of fuel with a minute to go.Meanwhile a consistent Kris Pryke moved up through the field just failing to catch Boulty but taking the final podium place.  

1st Richard K           (Serpent)

2nd Richard Boult     (Capricorn)

3rd Kris Pryke.          (X-Ray)

 GT8 Nitro

1st Matt Baker

2nd Glyn Beal

3rd.    Paul Dewsnap

Thanks to the Halifax Club for hosting a well organised and enjoyable meeting. The final round is scheduled early October at the fast challenging Mendip circuit.

A Final Winners 200mm Touring & 220mm GT Serpent Drivers