BRCA 1/8th Rally X National Report: Cragg Takes Round 2

8th Rally X

This weekend saw the 2nd round of the BRCA National Rallycross championship at the superb Kent Model Car club track, near Maidstone. A great job by Matt and his team to get the facility looking great and in tip top condition!



Qualifying on Saturday was dominated by Elliot Boots and his reds powered Kyosho running proline tyres. This being one of Elliot's home tracks before his most recent move to Italy and you could see he felt at home straight away. He took the TQ in every round, Darren Bloomfield, Jack Embling, Neil Cragg and Lee Martin all took a 2nd in a round but Darren and his Bullett powered Agama just edged the 2nd place with TQ in round 1 and 5. Jack and his Reds powered Kyosho managed 3rd, Lee with his new RC Concepts engine powered Mugen was 4th overall and Neil with his LRP/AE combo ended up 5th, but all with only a few points between after 5 intense rounds of qualifying.

Final Results as follows: -
B 1/64 – 1st – Rob Cockroft, 2nd – Ricky Clarke, 3rd – Colin Parsfield, 4th – Carl Chillingsworth
A 1/64 – 1st – Mark Thomas, 2nd – Daniel Shelton, 3rd – Stavros Costas, 4th - Chris Long

B 1/32 – 1st – Joshua Graham, 2nd – Andrew Rennick, 3rd – Rob Cockroft, 4th – Carl Chillingsworth
A 1/32 – 1st – Clive Malland, 2nd – Barry Abbott, 3rd – Lewis Millman, 4th - Mark Thomas

B 1/16 – 1st – Matt Box, 2nd – Aaron Ford, 3rd – Mark Kay, 4th – Gary Gregory
A 1/16 – 1st – Steve Shakespeare, 2nd – Barry Abbott, 3rd – Clive Malland, 4th – Jamie Cutter

B 1/8 – 1st – Joshua Marshall, 2nd – Rick McKenzie, 3rd – Harry Philips, 4th – Anthony Conroy
A 1/8 – 1st – Robson White, 2nd – Arron Girling, 3rd – Jack Willetts, 4th – Dominic Nunn

B ¼ - 1st – John Holmes, 2nd – Rhys Herd, 3rd – Karl Jackson, 4th – Taro Cradock
A ¼ - 1st – Michael Lewis, 2nd – Dave Bailey, 3rd – Mitchell Booth, 4th – Ashlee Owen

The Semi line up was impressive, the B side saw Darren on Pole with Lee Martin in 2nd and Jamie Clancy and his REX powered Associated 3rd with top qualifying Jnr Callum Nibblett with his Bullett powered Agama 5th. Darren continued his lightning pace in the final, even getting the extra lap in over 2nd place Lee Martin as the final buzzer sounded. Jamie battled hard and retained his 3rd, with kyosho driver Rhys Herd, having bumped from the ¼ final coming from 12th to take 4th. Fellow Kyosho/Reds driver James Le Pavoux came home 5th and Graham Alsop took the last bump up spot with his Hot Bodies.

The A side lined up with Elliot, Jack and Neil 1,2,3, with Jonathon Skidmore and his Bullett powered Agama in 4th, and Kyosho driver Milan Dragojlovic rounded off the top 5. Elliott, Neil and Jack dominated the final, with Neil just edging Jack for 2nd place behind Elliot. The Top 3 were only separated by 15 seconds after 20mins. A great drive by AE driver Simon Reeves saw him go from 7th to 4th, and Jnr Agama driver Ollie Currie also climbed through the field from 8th to 5th. Milan came in 6th and a superb drive from Xray/FX driver Ashlee Owen saw him go from 14th on the grid to get the last bump, a great drive by Ashlee who had already bumped from his ¼ final.
Elliotts time put him Pole in the main, with Neil and Jack 2nd and 3rd respectively. It was a great 3 way battle out front between Elliot Boots, Neil Cragg and Jack Embling, lasting nearly the full 45mins. Elliot would lead for the first part but a few mistakes would allow Neil through. Neil managed to hold the lead with Elliot in second swapping fast laps all the way until an issue that would see Elliot have to make his way into the pits. This allowed Neil to hold the lead, promote Jack up to 2nd and long time 4th place man Lee Martin to snatch 3rd.

kent podium

A great weekend all round and a very well done to all involved. Congratulations to Neil Cragg for the win. The full list of finals, results and championship standings can be found at