BRCA Rallycross Rd 5 - Nemo Raceway

8th Rally X

The 5th and final round of the 2021 BRCA RallyX Championship would take place at the Fast-flowing Nemo Raceway. This would be the first national event to be held at the track that opened in 2020, and it was a great addition to the calendar.


The weather was set to be unpredictable and that it was, with rain in some later rounds really mixing up the results! The first 3 rounds were dry, but with rain in round 4 on Saturday in the later heats, many of the lower heats were faster than the higher ranked drivers. Sunday morning was also a similar story, with some of the middle heats having rain. Rain on the heavily oiled track meant many drivers not putting in the times they expected, as grip became very low. This once again mixed up the rounds positions.

The Nemo track looking great:


It was Neil Cragg who got the Overall TQ in the end, with a 2nd and 2x 1sts counting. The AE man really showing his class being one of the most consistent qualifiers of the year taking another TQ. Agama driver Lee Martin got 2nd overall with Darren Bloomfield and his AE machine getting 3rd.

The lower finals on Sunday morning were reduced in time to 15mins to let the rain pass and the track dry, the promoted drivers from those finals were as follows:-

B 1/64

1- Richard McKenzie

2-John Green

3- Chris Willetts

4- Dan Ainsbury

A 1/64

1-Matt Bridge

2-Chris Procter

3-Darren Moon

4-Callum McLoughlin

B 1/32

1-Dave Williams

2-Zak Edwards

3-Maxim Cook

4- Josh Marshall

A 1/32

1-Jason Patey

2-Julian Jessop

3-Matt Bridge

4-Jack Willets

B 1/16

1-Scott Walker

2-Sean Berryman

3-Josh Marshall

4-Michael Shorey

A 1/16

1-Jack Willets

2-Mark Everitt

3-Jason Patey

4-Tehannah Cradock

B 1/8

1-Daniel Austin

2-Matt Box

3-Robson White

4-Scott Walker

A 1/8

1-Ashlee Owen

2-Wesley Jolly

3-Ben Billing

4-Adrian Svensson

The First quarter final was the B 1/4 and the races were now back up to 20mins. Pole man Simon Willets and his Mugen machine dominated, leading every lap of the race. He even managed to get the lap on the field. The battle was on for 2nd though with Agama driver Jon Hazelwood and the AE of David Bailey swapping positions on the first lap and then following each other for the rest of the race with Jon 2nd and David 3rd. 4th was WRC driver David Gibson.

A 1/4 was also won convincingly this time by the Sworkz of James Le Pavoux he too getting the lap on the drivers behind him. 2nd place was a different story, for the majority of the first half of the race Tekno driver Mitchell Booth was comfortable, however an unfortunate return to the pits saw him retire and this left the AE of Bradley Baird to go on to take 2nd but only after a great on track battle with Joshua Graham. Josh crossed the line just half a second behind Bradley. 4th was taken by the Agama of Ashlee Owen after a sensational drive from 11th having previously bumped.

The first Semi final would see the Agama of Lee Martin on Pole, he had a good start and retained his lead  for the first part of the race, however the new champion Joni Skidmore and his Mugen eventually took the lead, going on to take the win in convincing style as the buzzer went. Lee crossed the line in 2nd ahead of the Mugen of Will Skidmore in 3rd. An extremely smooth drive by Graham Alsop and his HB machine saw him get 4th in front of a hotly contested 5th places after some great action it was Simon Willets who secured the place and getting his 2nd bump of the day. The AE of Jamie Clancy was 6th and the last bump spot from this semi was taken by Sworkz driver Callum Niblett.

The other Semi final had Neil Cragg on pole, he was dominant and once again led ever lap of the race, taking the win by 13s. Darren Bloomfield and Tommy Hall also both AE were both battling for 2nd, Darren had it initially but then young Tommy managed to get past around the first pit stop window but it was Darren who got it back at the midway point of the race and the pair finished 2nd and 3rd respectively. A solid drive by Sworkz man Elliott Boots saw him get 4th. Another great fight was on for 5th with AE driver Jamie Hall and the Agama of Kevin Brunsden both retaining the position for periods of the race, on the final lap it was Brunsden who passed Jamie bring home 5th with Jamie 6th. A superb drive by James Le Pavoux saw him go from 11th on the grid through the field to take the last spot in the main.

Joni Skidmore would start on pole for the main and a great start saw him retain the position for a short while but Cragg was hot on his gearbox. Joni dropped down the field on lap 5 seeing Neil take on the lead. Joni found his way back up to once again battle with Neil for the lead and around the half way point in the race Joni was at the front again as Cragg had an issue and had to retire from the race. Heart breaking for Cragg who had amazing pace! Bloomfield would now take up the pursuit of Joni Skidmore, but at lap 47 Joni too had an issue forcing him out of the race leaving Darren out in front. A large number of retirees meant that at this stage there were only 9 left in it and with 2 of the top guys out anything could happen! Boots had taken advantage and he was now in 2nd chasing down the leader. It wasn’t to be for Boots with Darren taking the win and Elliott taking 2nd at the buzzer. A hugely successful day for James Le Pavoux saw him get the 3rd and his first national podium. An unbelievable achievement having started the day in the 1/4 finals! Graham Alsop got 4th and Jamie Hall 5th.

James Le Pavoux's Sworkz:



An interesting end to the season at Nemo, with some surprise results but a great weekend and a fitting end to the season.

Thanks to Nemo for hosting the event, and to all the other clubs involved in this years championships. A brilliant year despite restrictions, and so good to be back on tracks for the nationals after missing 2020. Thanks to the BRCA team for a great series, and thanks to all the racers for making it one of the best championships. Mostly well done to Joni Skidmore on his first national championship, another new name to add to the List of previous champions. We look forward to 2022!

The final Championship standings can be found at, the top 3 of each are below:-

Top 3 overall Junior Class. 1st Tommy Hall, 2nd Dylan Suanders, 3rd Freddie Thompson.


Top 3 overall Clubman Class: 1st Freddie Thompson, 2nd joshua Graham, 3rd Daniel Austin.


Top 3 Over 40 Class: 1st Graham 'Sloppy' Alsop, 2nd Kevin Brunsden, 3rd Simon Reeves.


Top 3 Overall National Championship: 1st Joni Skidmore, 2nd Elliott Boots, 3rd Darren Bloomfield.