BRCA – 1/8 Circuit National Round 4 – 2016 Report (Sponsored by Xtreme Aerodynamics)

1/8th Circuit

The fourth round of the BRCA National series which was sponsored by Xtreme Aerodynamics, took place last weekend at the Yorkshire Radio Control Model Car Racing Club, host to the 2013 1/8th scale euros, in stark contrast to round 3 at Adur, this is a fast flowing track where engine, gear box and clutch are critical to a strong performance.


During Saturday practice the usual top contenders of Mark Green, Tim Wood, Neal King and Andrew Hastings were setting lap times in the high to mid 14 second bracket, which signalled the track was unlikely to be in lap record breaking condition for qualifying and finals following day.

After four rounds of qualifying the Nitro A final would line up as follows:

Mark Green - 21/ 311.830
Neal King - 20/ 300.580
Tim Wood - 20/ 301.850
Andy Hastings - 20/ 302.650
Andrew North - 20/ 305.630
Karl Dransfield - 20/ 306.320
Michael Walton - 20/ 306.710
Richard Hicklin - 20/ 308.110
Jason Frost - 20/ 310.010
David Spashett - 20/ 310.570

As the final got under way Mark Green extended his lead and looked as if nobody would catch him, with Tim Wood losing position to Neal King on lap 23, it looked as if Neal was going to split the leading pair of Serpent drivers on the podium, unfortunately for Mark and much to Tim & Neal's fortune Mark was to run out of fuel just before his pit stop on lap 79, at which point Tim Wood moved into second, Neal inherited the lead and Mark dropped the to third. This would be the finishing order of the podium.

The final results were as follows:

1/8 Nitro Final Results:

Neal King - 116/1814.910
Tim Wood - 115/1811.100
Mark Green - 115/1811.890
Andrew Hastings - 113/1804.880
Richard Hicklin - 113/1810.970
Jason Frost - 113/1811.360
David Spashett - 110/1813.550
Andrew North - 93/1805.470
Michael Walton - 46/1170.500
Karl Dransfield - 26/ 416.680

In the 1/8th Circuit Electric class it was Mathew Baker who took TQ honours in front of Franck Dambrine, yet Gavin Clinch was to win both legs of each final, which means from the two round entered so far Gavin has only dropped a single point! Yet Franck Dambrine and Paul Bellinger having completed four rounds are joint on points and currently leading the electric championship, the class is slowly gaining popularity within the UK with this being the highest entry of the season so far, the final points allocated after both legs were as follows:
Gavin Clinch 2 Points
Franck Dambrine 4 Points
James Patton 7 Points
Paul Bellinger 8 Points
Phil Hague 10 Points
Mathew Baker 11 Points
John Russell 14 Points
Graham Baker 17 Points
James Elice 18 Points

Electric Podium

Special thanks to Xtreme Aerodynamics for sponsoring round four of the BRCA 8th circuit national championship.