2017 East Anglian GT12 regionals - Round 3

1/12th Circuit GT

Competition heats up in Cambridgeshire.

The third round of the East Anglia GT12 Regional Series 2017 was hosted by the Cambridge Radio Controlled Circuit Car Club (CRCCCC) at their venue at the Milton Community Centre, Milton, Cambridge on Sunday 25th June 2017. Over 40 drivers attended this round, with most pitting in an adjacent room and some trackside. John Parker and a few club members put the track together on the Saturday night ready for the racers on the Sunday morning.

The track included a number of 'D' marshalling zones, which were excellent for both the marshals and the racers. The format again for this round, was a practice heat, four qualifying heats and two leg finals.



After a driver's briefing from John Parker, we went straight in to practice heats which gave all the drivers a chance to get used to the hose track markers. Cars had a tendency to 'stick' to the hose, rather than bounce off, which is the case with the more popular drainpipe track markers. This track definitely awarded drivers who didn't take liberties with the corners! Once again James Price ran race control, with scrutineering being shared amongst the drivers throughout the day.

In qualifying, setting the pace at the top end were Ben Vincent, David Gale, Owen Smith (Junior) and Scott Morton. Adam Mackman put in two strong times in Rounds 3 and 4 to qualify 5th in the A final at his first GT12 Regional. A faster time from Ben Elliott in Round 4 secured him the 6th qualifying place in the A Final, just above Stuart Dye who qualified 1st in the B Final just 0.34 seconds behind Ben Elliott. Ben Vincent put in the fastest qualifying time of 41/366.26.

All the finals (A-G) were run over two legs. In the A final, the first leg was won by Scott Morton, Ben Vincent was second with Owen Smith (Junior) in 3rd. The second leg of the A final was won by Ben Vincent, Owen Smith was second with a great drive from Adam Mackman giving him 3rd. This gave Ben Vincent 1st overall from Owen Smith in 2nd and Scott Morton in 3rd. Adam finished 4th, David was 5th and Ben Elliott was 6th.

Certificates were again awarded to the top three in each final, and the top three Juniors overall. Senior and Junior FTQ certificates were also awarded to Ben Vincent and Owen Smith.


A final - Top 3

1st   Ben Vincent (Schumacher)
2nd  Owen Smith - Junior (Mardave)
3rd   Scott Morton (Schumacher)



A Final Tech Sheet

Tech sheet

Top 3 Juniors

1st   Owen Smith (Mardave)
2nd  Ben Hewitt (Schumacher)
3rd   Darcie Smith (Mardave)


Another superb round of the series and many thanks to the Cambridge Radio Controlled Circuit Car Club and their members for a great days racing.