2017 East Anglian GT12 regionals - Round 4

1/12th Circuit GT

The series moved onto Papworth.

Round 4 of the East Anglia GT12 Regional Series 2017 was hosted by the South Cambs Radio Controlled Car Club (SCRCCC) at their venue at the Papworth Village Hall, Cambridgeshire on Sunday 16th July 2017.

This round attracted 39 drivers, with most pitting on the stage overlooking the track. Michael Hull, Paul Thompson and a few club members laid a fast flowing track out on the Saturday night ready for the racers on the Sunday morning. The format again for this round, was a practice heat, four qualifying heats and two leg finals.



Once again we started with practice heats which gave all the drivers a chance to get used to the fast track and for race control to tweak the heats according to driver ability for qualifying. After practice, Michael Hull gave a driver's briefing and Caz James was surprised with a birthday cake, presented by James Vincent. Once again James Price ran race control, with scrutineering being shared amongst the drivers throughout the day. Some of the younger members of the club ran the tuck shop during the day with great success!

In qualifying, setting the pace at the top end again were Ben Vincent, David Gale, Adam Mackman, Michael Hull and Ben Elliott. Matthew Gammons put in strong times in all four rounds of qualifying and narrowly missed out on an A Final place, qualifying 2nd in the B final just behind Owen Smith. Ben Vincent put in the fastest qualifying time of 42/364.44. The fastest Junior was Owen Smith with a qualifying time of 41/363.18.

All the finals were again run over two legs. In the A final, the first leg was won by Ben Vincent, David Gale was second with Michael Hull in 3rd. The second leg of the A final was won by David Gale, Adam Mackman was second with a great drive and Ben Vincent was 3rd. This gave David Gale 1st overall from Ben Vincent in 2nd and Michael Hull in 3rd. Adam finished 4th, Ben Elliott was 5th and Scott Morton was 6th.

Certificates were again awarded to the top three in each final, and the top three Juniors overall. Senior and Junior FTQ certificates were also awarded to Ben Vincent and Owen Smith.


A final - Top 3

1st   David Gale (Schumacher)
2nd  Ben Vincent (Schumacher)
3rd   Michael Hull (Schumacher)



A Final Tech Sheet

Tech Sheet

Top 3 Juniors

1st   Owen Smith (Mardave)
2nd  Ben Hewitt (Schumacher)
3rd   Ewan Thompson (Schumacher)


Another competitive fourth round of the series and many thanks to the South Cambs Radio Controlled Car Club and their members for another great days racing.


All the finals can be viewed at: Finals Videos

Full results and championship tables are available at : Results


The fifth round of the six round series will be hosted by the Norwich RC Car Club on Sunday 13th August 2017 at their new venue at East Tuddenham Hall & Social Club, Mattishall Rd, Dereham NR20 3LR.
Booking in is open until 6pm on the 12th August 2017 at : Booking

Please come and join us for this fun and competitive series.


Photos and videos courtesy of James Vincent, James Price and Caz James.