2017 East Anglian GT12 regionals - Round 6

1/12th Circuit GT

Bedford hosted the sixth and final round of this successful series.


The six and final round of the East Anglia GT12 Regional Series 2017 was hosted by the Bedfordshire Radio Controlled Model Car Club at the Bromham Village Hall, Village Road, Bromham in Bedfordshire on Sunday 17th September 2017. An excellent entry of 42 drivers attended this round. The format again was a practice heat, four qualifying heats and two leg finals.

bedford track

Qualifying in this final round was fast and furious, as drivers were also racing for their series final positions. Throughout qualifying there was some seriously competitive racing throughout the field. Setting the pace at the top end at his home track was David Gale, with Ben Elliott and Adam Mackman chasing him hard during all the qualifying rounds. Ben Vincent, Owen Smith (Junior) and Carl Beecroft qualified for the remaining A Final places. David Gale put in the fastest qualifying time of 51/361.73.

All the finals (A-G) were run over two legs. In the A final, the first and second legs were both won convincingly by David Gale. In the first final a mistake early on the first lap by Ben Elliott caused a pile-up giving David a lead that couldn't be challenged. Ben Elliott and Adam Mackman put on a superb driving display battling for second place until they came together coming on to the straight which allowed Ben Vincent to come through to second place. Ben Elliott in third pushed Ben Vincent hard for the remainder of the race, but Ben Vincent came over the line in second place in front of Ben Elliott and Adam. In the second leg of the A Final, a number of mistakes by Ben Elliott meant that Adam was running in second place being chased down by Ben Vincent in third. At 5.40 minutes in to the race Adam came off worse from an incident with backmarkers to allow Ben Vincent through to take second place with Adam finishing third.

This gave David 1st overall from Ben Vincent in 2nd and Ben Elliott in 3rd. Adam finished 4th, Owen Smith (Junior) was 5th and Carl was 6th.


Certificates were again awarded to the top three in each final, and the top three Juniors overall. Senior and Junior FTQ certificates were also awarded to David Gale and Owen Smith.

Round 6 - Top 3 A final - Overall

1st       David Gale (Schumacher)

2nd     Ben Vincent (Schumacher)

3rd      Ben Elliott (Zen Racing)

bedford seniors 


Round 6 - Top 3 Juniors (Under 14) - Overall

1st       Owen Smith (Mardave)

2nd     Jake Vincent (Schumacher)

3rd      Daniel Robins (Schumacher)

bedford juniors


A Final Tech Sheet

Tech sheet

Thanks to the Bedfordshire Radio Controlled Model Car Club and their members for a great days racing and end to the series.


So after 6 rounds, we have our winners!


Senior Series Winners - Top 3 - Overall

1st      Ben Vincent (Schumacher)

2nd     David Gale (Schumacher)

3rd =   Ben Elliott (Zen Racing)

3rd =   Scott Morton (Schumacher)

3rd =   Owen Smith (Mardave)

senior seniors


Junior Series Winners - Top 3 - Overall

1st       Owen Smith (Mardave)

2nd     Daniel Robins (Schumacher)

3rd      Jake Vincent (Schumacher)


Inter-Club Championship - Series Winners

Bedfordshire Radio Controlled Model Car Club - BEDSRCMCC


Jon Cannell presented the trophy to James Price, Chairman of BEDSRCMCC, who accepted on behalf of their club members who competed during the series.

IMG 1835


To recognise and reward the juniors who attended the final round, there was a raffle for prizes for them, generously supplied by Kev's RC Spares, Schumacher Racing and Zen Racing. A huge thank you to them for their donated prizes.


junior prizes


Thanks to James Price for running race control throughout the series, Caz James for providing winners certificates, tech sheets and race reports, James Vincent for the final videos and each of the club hosts and the organising committee. And of course all the racers who supported the series.

We will be back later next year for another series!

Round 6 finals can be viewed at: Videos


Full results including the overall series points table will be available at: Results


Photos and videos courtesy of Caz James and James Vincent.