Round 3 of the Scottish GT12 Clubmans series Report

1/12th Circuit GT

Heading into the final round of the Championship there were three drivers in contention to clinch the championship. Andrew Edwards, last year’s defending champion and John Simpson tied with a win and third place and Kenneth Rogers sitting right behind with two second places putting all three drivers on the same points score. Unfortunately Andrew was unable to compete in the last round leaving John and Kenneth to battle for the win.

A more technical layout than round 2 was laid down by the Dundee club with all the drivers enjoying the more challenging track. Many of the racers were separated by tenths but John set a commanding pace and took pole position by the best part of a lap. Kenneth secured second and Colin Rose showed some pace in third with Bryan Thomson, Bryan Duffus driving his new Schumacher Atom and Craig Mays completing the A Final.

The dominance shown by John in qualifying continued in all three legs of the final with tone to tone wins for the local driver. Kenneth finished second after being challenged strongly by Colin in the opening laps of the finals who  was to lose out to Colin Mays who put together a fantastic performance to secure third from 6th place on the grid.

With 27 drivers in attendance there were hard fought battles throughout the rest of the finals. David Bruce after narrowly missing out on the A final by 1 second won the B final in commanding form. Graeme Dick took second with David Cobban completing the podium.

C final saw Allan Grant take the honours from Dan Lockhart and Reese Duthie. Paul Bignell took the honours in D Final from John Duthie and Keir Duffas. E final win went to Mikey Dunn, from Aiden Cobban and Ed Burnett.

With two wins John Simpson secured the Championship  with Andrew Edwards second and Kenneth Rogers in third. This is the third running of the GT12 series in Scotland with each year producing a different winner.  

Thanks go to Dundee and Angus Radio Control Car Klub and Lothian Radio Control Car Club who hosted the rounds and with many drivers keen for more racing action we look forward to another series later in the year.

12633139 10153370164839849 631762556 o

Championship copy

A Final copy