AWS 2018 Race Report From Round 3 At Swindon MCC

Truggy & E8 Buggy

Click Read More to find out what happened at the third round of the AWS round 3


Well where do I start about the third round of the AWS


Well it was cold with a few small showers during the day. Gates opened on the track around 7am. Drivers started to arrive at the Astro circuit at Swindon Model Car Club.

The meeting saw 53 drivers at the meeting. Because we had time we started the meeting with a round of timed practice with the same times as qualifying. After we had finished practice we went straight into the three rounds of qualifying with the best two to count. Well the competition was fierce with Milan Dragojlovic, Chris Lovell, Elliot Taylor and Chris Leighton battling for the TQ spot for the Buggy class. Carl O'Connor, Chris Cox, Paul Abbott fighting for the TQ point in the Truggy class.

Some of the qualifying rounds were challenging for the drivers because right in the middle of the first round of qualifying it started to rain. So the track got more slippy. There was a little bit of sliding around I must say. As qualifying went on the closeness of the driving during the heats got closer and faster. However Carl O'Connor took the TQ point in Truggy. Paul Abbott qualified second overall and Chris Cox qualified third overall. After close battles in Buggy during qualifying. Milan Dragojlovic took TQ in Buggy, Elliot Taylor qualified second, and Electric Buggy driver Chris Lovell qualified third.

After around a 30 minute break for lunch we started the 5 finals, The Truggy final was first up. The race was fantastic, epic battles for first and second, and third and forth. We saw Carl O'Connor take the lead early on in the race. Then Chris Cox made an appearance and took the lead in lap 11 in the race and remained there until the end. Paul Abbott was also fighting Steve Collinson for third place. However in the end we saw Chris Cox finish first. Carl O'Connor finished in second place. With a 0.05 second gap between them as they both crossed the line for the final time. Paul Abbott finished third and Steve Collinson finished forth.

After that race we went through the Buggy finals. All of the finals are 18 minutes long. The top 4 from each final got promoted into the next final. The buggy finals started with the D final which was won by Peter Jones. Chris Stevens was second place, Luke Johns was third and Tony Scott one of the guys behind the Bernie and Steve's Memorial Race in March finished in third. These drivers were promoted to the C Final. Straight after the D Final we started the C Final, Lee Curvis from Wales took the win with Peter Jones who won the D Final come in second. Darren Smith finished third place and Andrius Zilevicius finished forth with his Electric Buggy. The B Final was next. After this 18 minutes race Lee Curvis won after he won the C Final. Matt Bridge from RacePace RC who is one of the sponsors for the series finished second. Mario Cellejo finished third and Matt Cunnington finished forth. The last final of the day was the A Main final. An amazing race to watch. There was a few issues with some missed laps. How ever I noticed most of these straight away and rectified it. How ever after a brilliant race Milan  Dragojlovic took the win, closely followed by Chris Lovell with his Electric Buggy took second. Elliot Taylor finished third, Finally Chris Leighton finished forth.

I would like to say thank you to all drivers that made the trip to the track in Gloucestershire. I would like to thank Neil, Alan and Mark who are involved in running the Swindon Club. Big shout out to the Catering team that looked after us throughout the day. All the results from the meeting and the series points are all on the AWS site. Booking in is open for the next round at North West Nitro on the 7th January 2018.

I would like to say Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all and I will see you after the new year.

Chris J AWS chairman