Truggy + E8 Buggy Nationals 2019 Round 1 Report

Truggy & E8 Buggy

Lewis Jones dominates the E-Buggy class at the first round of the Truggy + E8 Buggy Natioanals + Jamie Clancy powers through with his truggy! Click read more to find out what happened! 


On a very cold and windy morning at the Hertforshire club Herts Nitro Model Car Club. This is always a popular venue for the series and this meeting was no exception. 64 drivers which 5 of them doing 2 clases. 

The day started out with 2 rounds of practice, Truggy drivers had 5 minute runs with a two minute warm up. Electric Buggy's had 6 minute runs with a 1 minute rolling start.

There were 3 heats of truggy and 3 heats of E-Buggy, Also during this meeting we had 3 electric Truggy's. These ran with the Nitro Truggys for this meeting. During the practice rounds there was a fair bit of crashing to say the least as the drivers got used to the track and the size of the track. 

After the two rounds of practice we went staight into the 3 rounds of qualifying. The computer ran in automatic mode throughout the practice and qualifying process which made the meeting nice and relaxed and progressing at a steady pace. At the end of qualifying we saw 

Lewis Jones take the TQ spot in E-Buggy and Jamie Clancy take TQ in Truggy. 

After a fairly short break between the qualifying and finals, we started on the 6 finals. Starting with the Truggy C Final. This race was a 18 minute race with the top 4 bumping up into the B Final. After a bit of a scrappy start we saw Panio Vasilopoulos take the win with young driver Max McDonnell coming in second place. Steve Berrington come in third place and finially Warabe Tatekoji came in forth place. These drivers were promoted to the Truggy B Final! 

IMG 7748

After a quick marshal change over we started the E-Buggy C Final. This race lasted for 15 minutes and had 14 cars in it. Same with the Truggy final the top 4 bump up in the next final. So after some great driving and some great battles we saw Jack Preston take the win in this race, Alan Yakes took second place. Young driver Erik Lykke took third place and finially another young driver who is part of TeamChaos William day take forth place. B Truggy Final was next out on the track. This was also an 18 minute race and again the top 4 bumping up in to the A Final. The drivers that finished in the top 4 were Associated driver Dave Bailey take the win. Darren Hayden-Ball took second place, Scott Walker took third place with Sean Berryman who is new to the series this year came in forth place. 


IMG 7657

While the marshals changed over the E-Buggy B Final was getting ready. This final was also 15 minutes with the top 4 from the C Final making up the 11 to 14 places in this race. This race was a really god race. Plenty of action to be seen and lots of good battles. However after 15 minutes we saw Karl Jackson took the win after start on pole in this race, Matt Bridge who drives for Tekno finished in second place with another regular to the series Scott Follington finish in third place. The final bump up spot was taken by Sworks driver Chris Sharpe-Simkiss all the way from Blackpool finished in forth place. 


IMG 7631

Now it was time for the two A Finals of the day. First up being the Truggy A Final which lasted for 30 minutes and contained 14 cars and of course the top 4 from the B Final made up the 11 - 14 places. This race was really good to watch and showed up some fantastic racing and a test of endurance of the cars. The top 5 in very close battles throughout the race. However after 30 minutes we saw Associated drive Jamie Clancy take the TQ and win, Second place was taken by Nemo Racing's Jon Hazlewood. After a great battle with Jon for second Team Tekno Driver Mitchell Booth took third place and finially another driver for Nemo Racing Jonathan Skidmore finished in forth place. This race was well commentated by Lewis Jones (I think he's after my job lol)


58961647 10158515611443677 1994806464094404608 o

Last but not least we have to mention George Miller who did his best with his electric powered truggy. He did take the win in the E-Truggy Class (above). 


IMG 7821

The last race of the day was the 15 minutes E-Buggy final which also contained 14 cars and lasted for 15 minutes. This race was a brilliant race and the driving standard was fantastic throughout. The battles up and down the field was really good and just shown the level of driving in this race. After the 15 minutes was up Lewis Jones who is a very tallented driver for Associated came in first after taking overall TQ as well. Mike Lewis another driver for associated came in a close second place. Simon Reeves came in third place a lap down on the top 2 drivers. Finially William Skidmore who also drivers for Nemo Racing take forth place. 


IMG 7884

Truggy A Final Winners (Below). Jamie Clancy, Jon Hazlewood, Mitchell Booth

IMG 8050

E-Buggy A Final winners (Below) Lewis Jones, Mike Lewis, Simon Reeves

IMG 8043

I would like to say thank you to all drivers for supporting us for the first round of the series it was great to see all the old faces and some new ones. Massive thanks goes to the team at Herts Club for all the effort they had put in for us. Thank you to the lady who fed up during the morning but sadly had to leave our thoughts are with you and your family at this time. 

All the results from this meeting are on the BRCA website under the truggy section results. Plus all the photos are on the Truggy + E8 buggy sections facebook group. 

Booking in is open for the next round on the 2nd June at North West Nitro in Blackpool. I hope i see you all there

All the best 

Chris Jeffery - Truggy Section Chairman