For the third round of this year's BRCA 4wd On-road Championship, it was down to the Halifax track in Yorkshire. Weather forecast was not looking great for the weekend -  and so it proved with strong winds and rain for the Saturday practice and Sunday saw it start off wet before drying and then raining again for the last set of finals. 


In the first round of qualifying in wet conditions, it was Morgan Williams with his Schumacher Mi8  that was fastest from Tony Broad with his X-Ray X-4, Alex Brocklebank was third with another Schumacher. Round two saw a win for Darren Tickner with his Awesomatix A800 MMX from young Jamie Hall, and Morgan was third. Round three saw a win for Schumacher's Jamie Hickin with a 15 lapper, from Jack Collins with a Schumacher Mi8 with Tony in third. All of which saw Morgan on pole from Tony with Jack edging out Jamie for third by virtue of the tie-break.

In the finals, it was Tony who took the first two legs of the final for the overall win. Behind him it was Dan taking second by winning the third leg with Alex in third with a second and a third. Jack was in fourth and top U17 driver with Frankis Fletcher the top U13 driver.


It was Schumacher's Ollie Payne who posted the outright fastest time of all the classes (all on twelve laps) from Billy Fletcher with his Schumacher Mi8 with defending 13.5 champion, Zak Findlay and his X-Ray X-4 rounding out the top three. Round two saw a win for Billy on a 16 lapper from Ollie and Zak. Round three saw Zak go fastest with an 18 lapper from from Ben Moorey's Awesomatix with Billy in third. This saw Billy on pole by virtue of the tie-break from Ollie and Zak.

The first leg went the way of Zak from Ollie and Billy was third. The second leg saw a win for Billy from Zak with Ben in third and Ollie having a Dnf. The final leg in wet conditions saw a win for Billy from Ollie, Ben and Zak. This meant that Billy was the overall winner from Zak and Ollie with Ben in fourth. Finley Whitelock was top U17 driver and Jake Humphreys top U13 driver.


The first round saw the top three places all occupied by Schucaher Mi8's, with Andy Murray leading the way from Zak Smith and Chris Grainger. With conditions improving, it was Harley Eledridge who took round two on 18 laps with her X-Ray X-4 from Alex Thurston's Yokomo BD-12 and defenfending champion, Kyle Branson, with his X-Ray X-4. Round three saw Kyle take the fastest time with a 19 lapper from Harley, with Schumacher's Chris Grainger in third. This saw Harley take the pole position and lining up behind her, was Kyle from Andy and Chris..

In the finals, it was Kyle who took the first two legs for the overall win. Behind him it was Alex in the runner-up spot with a second and third, with the final podium spot going to Zak with a third and a fourth, whilst the third leg winner, Chris Grainger, was fourth, Daniel Robins was top U17 driver.

With three wins out of the three rounds so far this year for Kyle Branson, it was mean that Kyle is the 2023 British Champion and has successfully defended his title.

© Mike Haswell - author of article.

Published by Nikita Finnigan